Just another WordPress.com weblog

ADOPTING ANNIE

Me and Annie in the early days of knowing each other...

Me and Annie in the early days of knowing each other...

This special Girl came into my life and we became the best of friends

This special Girl came into my life and we became the best of friends

Back in January this Year i wrote to all the dog homes in the Birmingham area asking if they had any special needs dogs that desperately needed a home. I wanted a dog that had been in kennels for a long time and couldn’t find the right home due to having behavioural issues.
With my job as a Dog Psychologist and having shed loads of experience with rescue dog rehabilitation, I wanted a dog that I could help to rehabiltate and turn around.

Much to the Retired Grey Hounds Trusts’ delight they recieved my email that day and responded to me straight away saying that they had a very special dog called Annie that needed a second chance and knew with the work i do that she could indeed havea chance at getting a forever home.

I took Annie on as a foster dog with the thought in mind that i would rehabilitate her and find her a new home.

Annie was an ex racer, her name on the track Was Anne Champ. After 3 or so years of doing very well on the race tracks and winning most of her races she accquired an ankle injury which put an end to her racing days and she was given to the RGT.

Annie was found 2 new homes but suffered with fear based aggression and had bitten both new sets of owners and they returned her back to the Home saying they couldn’t cope with her.

Annie then got a Label as “An Agressive dog” as found it near on impossible to find a suitable new owner.

The day my email came in the RGT was only saying that that wished someone special would come and give Annie a home.. My email arrived and thier prayers had been answered.
Annies prayers had been answered and so had mine. It was oneof those things in life that was just meant to be!

On the first day i picked Annie up from her kennels she had a bright pink muzzle on and she layed down in the back of my car and went to sleep.
I looked down at this dog and promised her there and then we would help her to get better. I felt an amazing connection to Annie and shed a little tear. As much as Annie wanted and needed a home.. I wanted and needed a dog to be my best friend. I had a feeling right there and then that we had found each other for a very good reason!

I took off her bright pink muzzle and said you wont be needing this anymore. I am here to look after you and you dont need to ever feel scared again.
I knew Annie’s confidence would never grow if she kept her muzzle on.

When we arrived at my house Annie came in and i let her smell out her new territory. She happily went and marked every room with a small wee as if to say this place is mine.

I let Annie setlle in and find her feet and on one of the first days i gave her a bone and went to take it off her, She growled and beared her teeth at me but i showed no fear back at her and said “that is mine thank you” and took it from her. From that day on she new i was her pack leader and i gained her trust and respect.

It took a good 8 weeks to bond with her on the lead and i took her to new places every week, so she could grow in confidence. This dog had spent her life in kennels and the outside world was indeed a scarey place for her.
Her fear was based around men and anyone looming over her as she laid down. Her reaction had been to lash out and bite anytime anyone came into her space and invaded her.

I taught her by calm but assertive diciplin that this was not acceptable behaviour in my pack and that she wasn’t to feel scared if I was around to protect her.

After nipping a couple of my male friends she soon learnt this was not the way to behave. I also taught everyone that met Annie to approach her in a way that she wouldn’t feel threatend by giving her no direct eye contact and letting her come to sniff them out before she interacted with them.

Annie would sniff someone and either come in closer for a for a pet or back away. if she backed away we let her and i said to my friends to just give her time and she would come round when she wanted to.

Annie did bite my very good friend Kevin at first but he showed absolute patience with her and now she absolutley adores Kevin… she will roll over when she sees him and let him fuss her. He can even put his head down to kiss hers without any fear that she will bite.

Over the last 9 months Annie and i have bonded so much that it would be impossible to let her go now. Her home is here. This is where she feels safe and settled.

I have decided to Adopt Annie and give her her forever home.
She is a completley different dog to the one i first bought home and it just goes to show what love, patience and dedication can do with rehabilitating dogs.

Its the most rewarding feeling to see the changes in both her and myself and know that my hard work and leadship skills have paid off.

Dogs need to follow a human and not take on the job to lead them. This is when a dog feels overwhelmed and problem behaviours can occur. Even though Annie is a natural leader around other dogs she is more than happy to follow my leadership.
Annie has taught me many things too. We have both helped each other grow in confidence. She is a little Angel and i love her dearly.
Its so great to be at last giving her her forever home.

Now Annie has come through her rehabiltation i plan to foster more greyhounds and get Annie to help with rehabilating them to find them new homes. (no…. i wont bond with the next dog i bring home..!!) LOL….Easier said than done but it is my job to rehabilitate dogs and it will give me and Annie great satisfaction to start to help other dogs with behavioural problems find their forever homes too.

If you would like any information about fostering or adopting a rescue dog please feel free to contact me. The rewards are many!

Comments on: "ADOPTING ANNIE" (1)

  1. I’ve been lucky enough from the start to see Annie from being the scared dog that bitten me to the lovable dog I know and love now.

    The one thing (of many) that I’ve learnt is your absolute patience with Annie when you first had her.

    It was an unconditional love from the start that you had with her and that has truly paid off.

    Annie is a beautiful dog with a wonderful loving character. Something I couldn’t really see at all from the start but you somehow knew.

    You and Annie are made for eachother. She couldn’t have a more loving owner.

    Kevin

Leave a comment